Over one hundred success stories on parade

20 November 2021

There’s a story behind every one of our 108 graduate’s long black gown, a story of success and long-time dream becoming a reality as they take their next steps as doctors.

Professor Ronald Amedee, Head of Ochsner Clinical School said students in our program leave ready to take on real-world challenges because they graduate with a global perspective and enter residency programs from a competitive position.

“We are honored to train the next cohort of medical heroes, who are needed now more than ever as the world continues to contend with the COVID-19 pandemic and other threats to community and global health.

“We congratulate our students as they stand ready to rise to new challenges and help shape the future of our healthcare,” he said.

The 2021 graduating class was honored at its annual Culmination Ceremony held on Saturday, November 20 at The Gayle and Tom Benson Cancer Center on the Ochsner Medical Center in New Orleans.

Dr Guy Helman award both his MD and PhD.

Medical graduate, Dr Guy Helman was award both his MD and PhD, making him only a few of our students who has completed the PhD before MD graduation.

Professor Di Eley, Director of MD Student Research said that to complete the double is an impressive feat, but to complete both in six years is remarkable.

“Additionally, Dr Helman’s PhD work is world class," she said.

“The guidance from his principal supervisor, Dr Cas Simons, has obviously been superb and speaks to Dr Helman’s numerous international connections, publications and presentations which would be the envy of every one of us.” 

During the culmination ceremony, several UQ Ochsner physicians, residents, and graduating students were recognized with awards.

The 2021 Teacher of the Year award – the highest individual award of excellence – was bestowed upon:

  • Lauren Bergeron, MD.

The following teachers were nominated:

  • Michael Blanchard, MD – Psychiatry
  • Bruce Cleland, MD – General Surgery
  • Christopher Damm, MD – Cardiology
  • Asahel Gridley, MD – General Surgery
  • Charles Leithead, MD – Vascular Surgery
  • Danielle Levy, MD – Psychiatry
  • Raj Warrier, MD – Pediatric Hematologist-Oncologist

Resident teaching awards were awarded to the following physicians:

  • Amber Sleem, MD - Internal Medicine
  • Erika Pettis, MD - OBGYN
  • Jeffrey Coote, MD - Pediatrics
  • Varad Deshmukh, MD - Psychiatry
  • Eduardo Alcantar, MD - Surgery
  • William Dolan Mitchell, MD - Surgery

Recipients of Post Graduate Research Fellowship Awards included:

  • Sarah Chisholm
  • Dustin Chalmers
  • Arielle Kasindi
  • Nadia Hussein
  • Jay Shah

The following students were recognized with individual awards:

  • Jaye Espinas – Internal Medicine-American College of Physicians Excellence Award
  • Stanimira Kartolova – Dr. E. Edward Martin, Jr. Family Medicine Award
  • Nadia Hussein – John Lockwood Ochsner Sr. Surgical Award
  • Angela Conway – Student Excellence Award for OB/GYN
  • Morgan Viviano – Student Excellence Award for Pediatrics
  • Brett Pearce – Student Excellence Award for Psychiatry

We are accepting applications for our 2023 cohort. As a quota program in high demand, we encourage applicants to apply early to secure their place. Our first interview round is scheduled for March 2022.

Review our application process